French wedding

IMG_7830_edited-1As I mentioned in my last post, I did some travelling while in Spain – I went to France! A couple of years ago I lived in France, as I’ve also mentioned previously. So I returned to visit my former host family for a week end. But not just visiting them – I actually attended the wedding of my host family’s youngest daughter!

IMG_7954

It was really a great experience. It was not only my first french weeding, it was my first weeding ever. The fact that it was a french wedding, with all their traditions, just made it better. Have you, for example, ever heard about dancing with the brioche? 

IMG_7978

In fact, the wedding cake is a briochebut not just a regular, small one. No, for a wedding the brioche is really, really big – like one meter in diameter – and it’s placed on a big plate with handles. All the guest are lined up, holding hands, in a big circle around the newly wed couple. As the music starts the brioche is raised towards the roof and all the guests are dancing (walking) under it like when kids are playing London bridge is falling down except there’s no one being caught at the end. Okay, you have no idea how hard it is to explain, and I would have loved to share photos of it, but I don’t think the guests would want me to post pictures of them.

IMG_7960

I had a great weekend in France, and I’ve got so many photos that I would love to share, but I don’t think that neither the bride and the groom, nor the guests would wan’t me to. Especially as there were so many kids. I have to admit, though, that it breaks my heart to leave all those photos on my computer.

I guess I’ll have to convince someone. I’m on it.

Love

Hilde

Leave a Reply

